Grief Counselling

Grief is the emotional suffering we feel when someone or something we love is taken away from us.  The most intense grief is often the death of loved one.  Divorce, death of a pet, miscarriage, and loss of a job are also other sources of grief.  Grieving takes time.  The way we grieve and how we heal depends upon our personality, faith, life experience and the nature of the loss.    

There is no normal period for grieving.  For some the process takes weeks or months, and for others it may take years. Grief is highly personal, and everyone experiences it uniquely. Some people are angry while others feel helpless.  No matter what the reaction, the grieving person needs the support of others.

In her 1969 book “On Death and Dying,” Swiss-American psychiatrist, Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, outlined the five stages of grief:  

  • Denial: “This can’t be happening to me.”
  • Anger: “Why is this happening? Who is to blame?
  • Bargaining: “make this not happen, and in return I will_____.”
  • Depression: “I’m too sad to do anything.”
  • Acceptance: “I’m at peace with what happened.”

Dr. Kubler-Ross became the most respected authority on death and dying.  Her ground-breaking approach recognized the need to spend time with terminally ill patients, be honest with them and allow them to “pour out their hearts” and talk about what they were going through. She went on to teach courses in colleges, medical schools, hospitals and social-work institutions.

Not everyone goes through each of these stages, but it may be helpful to know that it is normal to experience these emotions. 

If you’re experiencing grief and loss:

  • Ask for help
  • Speak to a qualified counselor
  • Spend time with family, friends and others who have experienced grief and loss such as a self-help group
  • Let yourself feel sadness and anger
  • Accept a changed life
  • Take care of your physical self
  • Move towards accepting the loss
  • Return to activities and interests as the grief becomes less intense
  • Wait to make major life changes, give yourself time to make clear decisions

Registered counsellors offer individual counselling, group workshops and information about community resources.

Specific Techniques


Select a region to view to corresponding Grief Counselling professionals operating there: